Build error - MS Visual Studio Express 14 2015 x64, QT5

If you are allergic to bug trackers, you can post here any remarks, issues and potential bugs you encounter
LidCub
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:07 am

Build error - MS Visual Studio Express 14 2015 x64, QT5

Post by LidCub »

Hi!

I have downloaded the binary files to compile CloudCompare in Windows 7, with QT 5.5. I configure CMake like this, setting the compiler as Visual Studio 2015 x64, and generates it successfully:

Image

Image

Then, I open CloudCompare.sln on Visual Studio and I try to compile it as a Release x64 application, but I get an insane load of errors and/or VS instantly crashes. It looks like that all (or almost all) of them are failed references to the QT libraries, which VS somehow doesn't manage to link. I have been going around the problem during a couple of days and I really don't get how I can solve it:

Image

I have also tried to compile INSTALL.vcxproj with the same results. Any help would be appreciated. Kindly thanks!
daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 7707
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Build error - MS Visual Studio Express 14 2015 x64, QT5

Post by daniel »

From your cmake configuration, it seems that you are using the mingw + 32 bits version of Qt. To compile with Visual 2015 in 64 bits you need to download / install / use the binaries for... Visual 2015 + 64 bits ;)
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
LidCub
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:07 am

Re: Build error - MS Visual Studio Express 14 2015 x64, QT5

Post by LidCub »

Thanks! And... Doh!!! T_T I will try to play with the configuration a bit more.

The "catch" is... meanwhile I've been trying to build it, too, as a Win32 application with Visual 2015 and Visual 2008, and the problem is the same: as soon as any QT function appears, the Linker fails...
LidCub
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:07 am

Re: Build error - MS Visual Studio Express 14 2015 x64, QT5

Post by LidCub »

Ok, forget about it, I'm dumb as a river. Not only I needed the proper 64 bits version, but I also didn't set a QT version in Visual Studio ¬_¬

Thank you very much!
daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 7707
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Build error - MS Visual Studio Express 14 2015 x64, QT5

Post by daniel »

Yes you really need to get the qt binaries that correspond to your version of Visual (and you don't have much choices I believe).
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
LidCub
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:07 am

Re: Build error - MS Visual Studio Express 14 2015 x64, QT5

Post by LidCub »

Hello again!

I finally compiled CC in its most basic version, with no plug-ins or additional libraries. After some testing with the software, I decided to build it with LibLas to open .las images.

I manage to generate the CMake flawlessly, and the resulting .sln project also compiles with no error, but when I execute my resulting CC there is no option to open a .las file. The weird thing is, if I remove the liblas.dll library from my installation folder nothing happens, CC opens just fine. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong this time...

Thank you very much again.
daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 7707
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Build error - MS Visual Studio Express 14 2015 x64, QT5

Post by daniel »

You should update the source files because there wzs a glitch in the cmake files.
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
LidCub
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:07 am

Re: Build error - MS Visual Studio Express 14 2015 x64, QT5

Post by LidCub »

That fixed the problem indeed, my sources were from a week ago. But now, when I try to open a las/laz file in my compiled CC version I get the following error: "the third-party library in charge of saving/loading the file has failed to perform the operation" or the software just crashes.

I'm using the libraries which come with OSGeo4W, and a 1.60 Boost release. The compilation copies lislab.dll from my OsGeo installation to the CC folder but I have to add manually laszip.dll and geotiff.dll.

Thank you so much again, you are being very helpful.
daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 7707
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:34 am
Location: Grenoble, France
Contact:

Re: Build error - MS Visual Studio Express 14 2015 x64, QT5

Post by daniel »

Have you tried to load the same file with the official version of CloudCompare?
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
LidCub
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:07 am

Re: Build error - MS Visual Studio Express 14 2015 x64, QT5

Post by LidCub »

Yes, I have tried several .las files. All of them open in the 2.6 release but fail in my compiled version.
Post Reply