[Sloved] Trouble building CloudCompare
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:48 pm
[Sloved] Trouble building CloudCompare
Hey there,
I'm trying to build the CloudCompare project, and I'm having a bit of trouble, hopefully someone can help me out.
Here is my configuration:
Windows 7 x64
QT 5.3
CMake 3.1.0-rc1 (windows GUI)
Here are the steps I have taken:
Followed the wiki steps for generating the project using cmake.
Set the CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX to C:/Program Files/CloudCompareProjects
Included qEDL and qDUMMY_PLUGIN
generated the project...
attempted to build the install project in VS2012 but returned a bunch of errors (63 to be precise).
I've attached my error log as a series of screenshots.
I'm a bit of a newbie at this so any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance
Adrian
I'm trying to build the CloudCompare project, and I'm having a bit of trouble, hopefully someone can help me out.
Here is my configuration:
Windows 7 x64
QT 5.3
CMake 3.1.0-rc1 (windows GUI)
Here are the steps I have taken:
Followed the wiki steps for generating the project using cmake.
Set the CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX to C:/Program Files/CloudCompareProjects
Included qEDL and qDUMMY_PLUGIN
generated the project...
attempted to build the install project in VS2012 but returned a bunch of errors (63 to be precise).
I've attached my error log as a series of screenshots.
I'm a bit of a newbie at this so any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance
Adrian
- Attachments
-
- cloudCompareErrorLog_04.png (27.47 KiB) Viewed 10991 times
-
- cloudCompareErrorLog_02.png (79.64 KiB) Viewed 10991 times
-
- cloudCompareErrorLog_01.png (77.89 KiB) Viewed 10991 times
Re: Trouble building CloudCompare
Hi,
as all errors seem to relate to moc files (Qt), it's maybe due to a miss-configuration of Qt in CMake. Can you show us the Qt configuration in CMake?
as all errors seem to relate to moc files (Qt), it's maybe due to a miss-configuration of Qt in CMake. Can you show us the Qt configuration in CMake?
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:48 pm
Re: Trouble building CloudCompare
It turns out I hadn't set the path to qmake.exe in cmake. I fixed that, but still wasn't able to build the project successfully in visual studio.
Two screenshots attached, the first is my visual studio errors. The second is my cmake setup.
thanks for your help.
Adrian
Two screenshots attached, the first is my visual studio errors. The second is my cmake setup.
thanks for your help.
Adrian
- Attachments
-
- error_list.PNG (67.09 KiB) Viewed 10987 times
-
- cmake_qt.PNG (35.83 KiB) Viewed 10987 times
Re: Trouble building CloudCompare
Sorry for the late answer, I somehow missed your answer ;)
Do you use Qt with OpenGL? i.e. "Qt 5.3.2 for Windows 64-bit (VS 2013, OpenGL, 573 MB)" instead of "Qt 5.3.2 for Windows 64-bit (VS 2013, 575 MB)" for instance?
Do you use Qt with OpenGL? i.e. "Qt 5.3.2 for Windows 64-bit (VS 2013, OpenGL, 573 MB)" instead of "Qt 5.3.2 for Windows 64-bit (VS 2013, 575 MB)" for instance?
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:48 pm
Re: Trouble building CloudCompare
Yes, the name of the QT5 installer that I used is:
qt-opensource-windows-x86-msvc2013_64_opengl-5.3.2.exe
qt-opensource-windows-x86-msvc2013_64_opengl-5.3.2.exe
Re: Trouble building CloudCompare
Well it's a bit weird because another user just reported having successfully compiled with the same setup as yours:
http://cloudcompare.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1026
I wonder what brings the glew definitions before CC... I bet it must be Qt 5.3.2 (I don't believe Visual 2013 links it by default?!). I'll have to test this setup on my side.
Meanwhile, your best bet is to use a slightly earlier version of Qt if possible (5.2 maybe?)
http://cloudcompare.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1026
I wonder what brings the glew definitions before CC... I bet it must be Qt 5.3.2 (I don't believe Visual 2013 links it by default?!). I'll have to test this setup on my side.
Meanwhile, your best bet is to use a slightly earlier version of Qt if possible (5.2 maybe?)
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:48 pm
Re: Trouble building CloudCompare
Ok, so I used QT 5.2.1 OpenGL version, and made some progress...
The CloudCompare project built successfuly in VS 2012 and created the correct files in the install directory. I've changed the debugging command of the Install project to point to the cloudcompare executable, and rebuilt. But when I tried to run the application I got the message: This seems like a similar issue to:
http://cloudcompare.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1026
Also, if I hit the build and run command from Visual studio, I get this message: Which is strange because I definitely have administrator access.
Any ideas?
The CloudCompare project built successfuly in VS 2012 and created the correct files in the install directory. I've changed the debugging command of the Install project to point to the cloudcompare executable, and rebuilt. But when I tried to run the application I got the message: This seems like a similar issue to:
http://cloudcompare.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1026
Also, if I hit the build and run command from Visual studio, I get this message: Which is strange because I definitely have administrator access.
Any ideas?
Re: Trouble building CloudCompare
For the second issue, it's simple: you have to 'set as startup project' the CloudCompare project instead of the ALL_BUILD one. Just right click on the CloudCompare project to choose the corresponding option.
For the first issue: do you see the 'Qt5Core.dll' file next to CloudCompare.exe in the installation directory? If not, when you compile the INSTALL project, do you see any error at the end in the output console? (when CMake actually copies the files). If everything works, you should see something like: And if there's an error (or if Qt5Core.dll doesn't appear in CMake output) where does QT5_ROOT_PATH points to in your CMake configuration?
For the first issue: do you see the 'Qt5Core.dll' file next to CloudCompare.exe in the installation directory? If not, when you compile the INSTALL project, do you see any error at the end in the output console? (when CMake actually copies the files). If everything works, you should see something like: And if there's an error (or if Qt5Core.dll doesn't appear in CMake output) where does QT5_ROOT_PATH points to in your CMake configuration?
Daniel, CloudCompare admin
-
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:48 pm
Re: Trouble building CloudCompare
There's no Qt5Core.dll in the installation directory,
There are some errors in my console: And here is my QT setup in cmake: I'm also getting a build error message in Visual Studio: Thanks for your help so far, and I apologize for all the questions! as you can tell, I'm a bit of a newbie at this!
There are some errors in my console: And here is my QT setup in cmake: I'm also getting a build error message in Visual Studio: Thanks for your help so far, and I apologize for all the questions! as you can tell, I'm a bit of a newbie at this!
Re: Trouble building CloudCompare
I think the only issue is that QT5_ROOT_PATH is wrongly set: it should be something like "C:/Qt/Qt5.2.1/5.2.1/msvc2012_64_opengl" (nothing more ;).
This way Cmake will found the Dlls, etc.
This way Cmake will found the Dlls, etc.
Daniel, CloudCompare admin