Page 1 of 1

Rasterize

Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 12:06 pm
by tyna77
Hi,
I want to make raster from point cloud using Rasterize tool. I need raster in 32-bit format floating point but I have 64-bit double. Is there any option how to change the format?
Also when I get raster and I import it to ArcGIS, created DEM has rectangle around with value 0,2 and I need NoData. Can I set this or it is default?

Re: Rasterize

Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 6:32 pm
by daniel
There's no visible option to switch to 32 bits floating point values (to do this you would have to change a few lines in the code and compile CC yourself).

And regarding the empty cells value, we use the minimum height in the raster grid minus 1 (min(h) - 1). Then we declare this value as 'No data value' with GDAL (GDALRasterBand::SetNoDataValue).

However it seems this 'No data value' is not a standard for the geotiff format (see http://www.gdal.org/frmt_gtiff.html: << GDAL stores band nodata value in the non standard TIFFTAG_GDAL_NODATA ASCII tag >>). Therefore depending on the tool you use to load this file, it might not consider the corresponding cells as 'empty'. Maybe there's a way to do this afterwards in Arc?

Re: Rasterize

Posted: Fri Apr 07, 2017 7:22 am
by tyna77
Thanks for advice. I found a tool in ArcGIS called Copy Raster. You can change format of raster (Pixel Type) and also set nodata value (Ignore Background Value and NoData Value) there.

Kristýna